2017 Sanilac ISD Biennial Election June 5, 2017 7:00 p.m.



SUMMARY

Members Present: Louise Blasius, Sean Hagey, Raymond Miller, Dan Gilbertson, Janet Long, Jaime Macumber, Stephanie MacMillan and Deb Heberling. Also Present: Duane Lange and Julie Orchard.

- 1. Louise Blasius, Acting President of the Sanilac ISD Board of Education, called the meeting to order at 6:55 p.m.
- 2. Duane Lange reviewed the process to be followed during the 2017 Biennial Election.
 - Biennial meeting must comply with Open Meetings Act.
 - Local constituent school districts must send a "representative" to the meeting.
 - The representative does not have to be a board member.
 - The president or secretary of the ISD Board shall serve as chairperson. The County Clerk serving as the ISD's filing official is responsible for determining the sufficiency of any petitions filed by ISD candidates and the eligibility of the candidates to seek a position on the ISD Board.
 - The statues which govern the voting process stipulate that each constituent district
 representative entitled to vote at the meeting is required to vote for the candidate
 supported for each position by the constituent board he or she represents "at least on the
 first ballot taken by the electoral body."
 - The Sanilac ISD Board of Education has meet all requirements of Section 614 of 1976 PA 451, as amended (the "Revised School Code") in order to hold the 2017 Biennial Election.
- 3. Louise Blasius welcomed the representatives from the Sanilac School Districts.
- 4. Duane Lange appointed Louise Blasius and Julie Orchard as Board of Canvassers.
- 5. Duane Lange reviewed the names and terms of office for the Board Candidates.

Name	Term Expiring Date
Six Year Terms (Vote for Three)	
Vonda Zuhlke – Brown City	June 30, 2023
Cynthia Nunn – Croswell-Lexington	June 30, 2023
Candy Gerber – Peck	June 30, 2023
Four Year Terms (Vote for One)	
Amy Dumaw – Deckerville	June 30, 2021
Two Year Term (Vote for One) Mike Kiley – Marlette	June 30, 2019
	Jul. 5 55, 2010

- **6.** There was no questions before the voting process.
- 7. Roll Call of Voting Delegates was taken and the following individuals were present.

Representative
Sean Hagey – Brown City
Raymond Miller – CPS
Dan Gilbertson – Cros-Lex
Janet Long – Deckerville
Jaime Macumber – Marlette
Stephanie MacMillan – Peck
Deb Heberling – Sandusky

Ballots prepared by Denise McGuire, Sanilac Count Clerk, were handed out.

8. Vote was taken.

9. Board of Canvassers counted the votes and confirmed the election of the following individuals.

Name

Term Expiring Date

Votes Received

<u>name</u>	rem Expiring Date	votes Received
Vonda Zuhlke – Brown City	June 30, 2023	7
Cynthia Nunn – Cros-Lex	June 30, 2023	7
Candy Gerber – Peck	June 30, 2023	7
Amy Dumaw – Deckerville	June 30, 2021	7
Mike Kiley – Marlette	June 30, 2017	7

- 10. Louise Blasius announced the votes were unanimous.
- 11. Louise Blasius adjourned the meeting at 7:02 p.m.

Cynthia Nunn, SISD Board Secretary